VetBoss logo
VetBoss Sign inRegister for FREECompetitionContact Us
Powered by Google

Ceva Animal Welfare Awards - the shortlist is revealed! 

Following the most successful round of nominations to date, Ceva Animal Health has revealed its shortlist for its seventh annual Ceva Animal Welfare Awards. 

Spanning seven categories, the shortlist for each award was decided following a day of deliberations by a panel of esteemed judges chaired by retired veterinary surgeon, Chris Laurence MBE MRCVS.  Chris is the chairman of the Animal Welfare Foundation and BVBA and before retiring was chief veterinary officer at the RSPCA and veterinary director of Dogs Trust. He is also involved in a number of charities and is a trustee of the RSPCA and Animal Welfare Foundation.

The awards celebrate the achievements of remarkable people from the farming, veterinary and charity industries, who go beyond the call of duty to better the lives of animals around the world. Nominations were submitted by friends, family, clients and colleagues.

Chair of the judging panel, Chris Laurence, says: “Judging gets more difficult each year as we receive more nominations and they get even more impressive.  It is humbling to witness the huge number of people who give their lives to animal welfare to the detriment of better paid jobs or simply going out and enjoying themselves.”

The shortlist for the 2017 Ceva Animal Welfare Awards is as follows:

Chris Laurence Vet of the Year Award in association with Veterinary Times

  • Andrew Gardiner from Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies
  • Richard Saunders from the Rabbit Welfare Association and Fund
  • Jenny Stavisky from the University of Nottingham


Welfare Nurse of the Year Award in association with VN Times

  • Sarah Dawson from Vets4Pets in Walton Vale, Liverpool
  • Samantha Shand from Quarrington Veterinary Surgery in Sleaford
  • Ellisah Raven from Bransby Horses in Lincoln


Charity Professional of the Year Award (UK & International) – in association with PDSA

  • Lesley Winton, founder of the Winton Foundation for the Welfare of Bears & Fostering Compassion
  • Dr Stephen Blakeway, director of international operations at The Donkey Sanctuary
  • Ali Taylor, head of canine behaviour and training at Battersea Dogs & Cats Home


Charity Team of the Year Award (UK & International) - in association with Your Cat and Your Dog magazines

  • Mission Rabies
  • Mitchelson Found Animals Foundation
  • Dogstar Foundation, Sri Lanka


Volunteer of the Year Welfare Award (UK & International) – in association with Blue Cross

  • Maureen Smith from the National Animal Welfare Trust in Berkshire
  • Annie Blumenfeld from Wags 4 Hope, USA
  • Dean Bland from Well Equine in Yorkshire


Farm Animal Welfare Award (UK & International) – in association with R.A.B.I and NADIS

  • Dr Othieno O Joseph, a freelance veterinary journalist from Kenya
  • Katrine Bazeley, a retired veterinary surgeon from Dorset
  • Graham Duncanson, a retired veterinary surgeon from Norfolk


International Cat Care Welfare Award – in association with Agria Pet Insurance

International Cat Care will be choosing the winner of this award from its extensive membership base. The winner will be announced at the awards’ ceremony.

In addition to the scheduled categories, the judges have granted one additional award in special recognition of a charity’s ongoing commitment to animal welfare.

“We are amazed by both the quantity and quality of the nominations that we have received, which detail their overwhelming passion and commitment to animal welfare,” comments Cuneyt Seckin, managing director of Ceva Animal Health. “We are delighted to be able to honour these individuals and organisations and champion people involved in animal welfare, while raising awareness of this important work to wider audiences.”

Winners will be revealed and presented with their awards during a glitzy ceremony held in Birmingham ahead of BSAVA Congress on 5 April 2017. To find out more about the awards visit

Follow us:
VetGrad facebook
VetGrad twitter
Share this page: